Happy New Year!

2017 is finally here! I’m pretty happy about it…not only do some things certainly need to be left behind, but I have many things to be looking forward to in 2017!

As far as this blog, here are some upcoming posts:

  1. Using a Group Exam for Assessment – can it be done? Is there a right way? I’ll tell you about how I did it and discuss pros and cons.
  2. How I made the Virtual Daphnia Lab – I’m currently preparing a paper that I hope will be accepted by the Journal for Undergraduate Neuroscience Education (JUNE) on the virtual Daphnia lab I made for my Intro and non-major neuroscience students. I’m going to provide a bit more detail on how exactly I did that and what I think the benefits are in my post.
  3. Service-Learning: Part II – ?? I have about 100 ideas and have received a lot of feedback from my colleagues on best practices that I should incorporate into the project for this coming semester. I’m going to write about it in multiple parts over the course of the semester.
  4. Running a Collaborative Course – This semester I’m teaching a Clinical Neuroscience course that is a collaborative effort between three institutions: SU, Bucknell, and Geisinger’s Autism and Developmental Medicine Institute (ADMI). SU and Bucknell students will meet together and, over the course of 5 modules, will learn about neurological disorders and meet researchers in the field. I’ll write about how we envision the course going, how it actually goes, and thoughts for improving the next time around.
  5. Follow-Up on Group Projects – I will update on how the group project feedback looked and what I will likely change next.

Again, very excited (and already a little tired) for what 2017 has in store for me! I wish you all the very best in your teaching and lives!

Leave a Reply

